Citywire - For Professional Investors

Register free for our breaking news email alerts with analysis and cutting edge commentary from our award winning team. Registration only takes a minute.

Six Raiffeisen board members to resign

Six Raiffeisen board members to resign

Six of Raiffeisen Switzerland’s 11 board members will resign on 16 June 2018, according to a press release from the company.

By 2020, the bank said it expects a total of eight current members to resign. On 10 November 2018 the bank will hold a delegate assembly to elect a new chairman, along with two other board members.

The previous board chairman, Johannes Rüegg-Stürm, resigned in March 2018. His resignation was an effort to restore faith in the bank, as Finma had been investigating both Raiffeisen and its ex-CEO Pierin Vincenz for conflicts of interest linked to major shareholdings.

Independent board member Pascal Gantenbein has been serving as interim chair since Rüegg-Stürm stepped down.

Leave a comment!

Please sign in or register to comment. It is free to register and only takes a minute or two.